Vermont CLE Requirements

Vermont CLE

• Information Courtesy of Marino Legal Academy

• Delivering Professional Legal Education since 1947

• Access Your CLE Materials from Any Device, Anywhere

• Innovative, Flexible, High Quality, yet Surprisingly Affordable

Vermont CLE Requirements

Is CLE Mandatory in Vermont? Attorneys in Vermont are required to complete 20 hours of CLE credit during a two year reporting period. More details on Vermont’s CLE requirements can be found on this webpage.

What specific subject matters are required in Vermont? Of the 20 required CLE hours, Vermont requires at least two hours of CLE covering legal ethics.

How many Self-study CLE credits will satisfy Vermont CLE requirements? You can use up to 10 hours of online courses per two year reporting period to satisfy your Vermont CLE requirements.

What are the Vermont Live CLE Requirements? 10 of the 20 credit hours must be live. The rest of your CLE hours can be distance learning through Marino, anywhere you have a computer with an internet connection. 

Is a Marino CLE bundle available for Vermont? In the future, Marino plans to offer Continuing Legal Education courses for Vermont so that you can get your CLE hours quickly and conveniently from wherever you are.

Is the CLE provider responsible for verifying my participation? Vermont does not require the CLE provider to verify your participation, but they do require them to be an accredited CLE sponsor in order for the CLE credits to be valid.

What special CLE requirements are newly admitted attorneys held to? New attorneys must complete 15 hours of approved legal education courses on Vermont law and procedure no later than 1 year after his admission to the bar. If admitted on basis of examination or transferred UBE score, must complete a 6 month mentorship program (40 hours)

Does Vermont require attorneys to self-report their CLE attendance? Vermont requires attorneys to self-report their CLE hours using a compliance form that is sent to the attorney at the beginning of each reporting period.

Link: Vermont Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education

What is the certification cycle length? Every two years

Vermont CLE reporting deadline: July 1st

Vermont CLE compliance deadlines: June 30th

State Contact Info:

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Board
Office of Attorney Licensing
Costello Courthouse
32 Cherry St., Suite 213
Burlington, VT 05401

Phone: 802-859-3000
Fax: 802-859-3003