Oregon MCLE Requirements
• Information Courtesy of Marino Legal Academy
• Delivering Professional Legal Education since 1947
• Access Your MCLE Materials from Any Device, Anywhere
• Innovative, Flexible, High Quality, yet Surprisingly Affordable
Oregon MCLE Requirements
Is CLE Mandatory in Oregon? Oregon requires their attorneys to complete 45 hours of MCLE training over a three year period. This webpage outlines the specific requirements of MCLE in the state.
What specific subject matters are required in Oregon?
- 45 hours of MCLE are required. Of those,
- five hours must be in ethics
- one hour must be on the subject of a lawyer’s statutory duty to report child abuse and elder abuse
- one hour must cover mental health, substance abuse and cognitive impairment
How many self-study CLE credits will satisfy Oregon MCLE requirements? There is no limit to the number of online courses that may be used to satisfy Oregon’s MCLE requirements.
Does Oregon Have Live CLE Requirements? Oregon does not require a minimum number of live instruction hours. You may use Marino courses to satisfy your entire MCLE credit requirement.
Is a Marino CLE bundle available for Oregon? In the future, Marino plans to offer Minimum Continuing Legal Education courses for Oregon so that you can get your MCLE hours quickly and conveniently from wherever you are.
Is the CLE provider responsible for verifying my participation? No, Oregon requires attorneys to self-report their MCLE credits in a compliance report.
What special CLE requirements are newly admitted attorneys held to? If you are newly admitted to practice law in Oregon, you are required to complete 15 hours of MCLE credit on specific topics in your first three-year reporting period as well as a three hour Access to Justice class.
Does Oregon require attorneys to self-report their MCLE attendance? Oregon requires attorneys to self-report their MCLE credits in a compliance report.
What is the new MCLE guidance for Oregon? As of January 1, 2019, Oregon requires one hour of MCLE credit covering mental health, substance abuse and cognitive impairment. You can review the new rule here.
Link: Oregon State Bar MCLE Rules
What is the certification cycle length? Every three years
Oregon CLE reporting deadline: January 31st following the end of the three-year reporting period.
Oregon CLE compliance deadlines: December 31st of the third year of the three-year compliance period.
State Contact Info:
Oregon State Bar Center
16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road
PO Box 231935
Tigard, OR 97224